Brand Window - Audience - Manufacturers

AAMA Recognizes Member Leadership during Awards Banquet

February 22, 2011

The American Architectural Manufacturers Association (AAMA) recognized the contributions and achievements of its members and congratulated award winners at the 74th Annual Conference Awards Banquet held in Coronado (San Diego), CA. Award presenters noted the importance of these member contributions as they serve to further the industry as a whole.

L to R: Mike Hovan (Edgetech) accepts the Chairman's Award from Rod Hershberger (PGT)
Chairman's Award- Edgetech, I.G. Inc.

The biennial Chairman’s Award was presented to Edgetech I.G. Inc. (Cambridge, OH). This award is determined by the Chairman of the Board at the end of his two-year term and presented to a single company in appreciation of its outstanding commitment and dedicated support of the industry.

This year, Chairman of the Board Rod Hershberger (PGT) selected Edgetech as the winner of the award for their dedicated involvement not only to AAMA, but to the industry as a whole. Edgetech was originally formed in 1989 and is credited with the invention of “warm edge” spacer technology for insulating glass units. Hershberger commented that Edgetech has “revolutionized the industry and helped make it possible to meet today’s most advanced energy efficiency and condensation resistance mandates.”

Hershberger stated that Edgetech has been not only attending, but actively participating in AAMA meetings since joining as members in 1997, and the company has served as an important resource in AAMA’s efforts to meet the challenges of energy efficiency. Mike Hovan, President of Edgetech, accepted the award. 

Outstanding Member Award – Michael Kinard (Kinro Inc.)

L to R: Kevin Seiling, the previous year winner and Mike Kinard, this year's Outstanding Member Award winner.

Michael Kinard, Codes and Regulatory Consultant for Kinro Inc. (Arlington, TX), was named Outstanding Member, as presented by the previous award winner, Kevin Seiling (VEKA Inc.).

The Outstanding Member Award is given to an individual who has distinguished themselves in their work and dedication to the advancement of AAMA and the industry as a whole.

Kinard has participated in 46 committees during the 20 years that he has been active in AAMA and has served in the leadership of six of these committees. In presenting the award, Seiling described Kinard’s “untiring efforts in the hard work necessary to achieve positive results even in tough economic times.”  

Kinard began his career in engineering work with Kinro, Inc., and founded a successful commercial fenestration company with his father, producing commercial storefronts, storm windows and doors and specialty window products for local builders. Kinard returned to Kinro, Inc. to become the Vice President of Engineering and now works as a consultant to the company.

Architectural Products Group Distinguished Service Award – Gantt Miller (Winco Manufacturing)

L to R: Gantt Miller, this year's Architectural Products Group Distinguished Award winner, and Steve Fronek, APG President

The Distinguished Service Award for the Architectural Products Group (APG) was presented to Gantt Miller, CEO of Winco Manufacturing (St Louis, MO), by Steve Fronek (Apogee Enterprises), recipient of last year’s award.

This award is given to an individual who accomplishes formative work on behalf of the association and the Architectural Products Group.

Fronek noted that Miller “has been instrumental in protecting and strengthening the fortunes of AAMA in a time of adversity for our industry.” In his ten-year involvement with AAMA, Miller has been a contributor to 42 different AAMA committees and task groups and is currently involved in 25 of those committees. He has served as Chairman of the AAMA Board of Directors in addition to numerous other groups and roles involved in guiding the day-to-day operations of AAMA.

Miller has worked at Winco Manufacturing for 30 years, having previously worked as a residential developer and maintaining an architectural practice.

Residential Products Group Distinguished Service Award – Steve Strawn (JELD-WEN, Inc.)

L to R: Rod Hershberger, RPG President, and Steve Strawn, this year's Residential Products Group Distinguished Service Award winner

The Distinguished Service Award for the Residential Products Group (RPG) was presented to Steve Strawn, Product Compliance Policy Manager for JELD-WEN, Inc. (Portland, OR), by Rod Hershberger (PGT Industries), President of the Residential Products Group.

This award is given to an individual who accomplishes formative work on behalf of the association and the Residential Products Group.

In his nine-year involvement with AAMA, Strawn has participated in 88 AAMA task groups, committees or councils and currently serves as an active contributor to all 12 of the AAMA material and product councils. He is co-chair of the AAMA Code Action Committee and is an active member of 20 other committees including the Green and Sustainability Specification Development Task Group and the North American Fenestration Standard (NAFS) Committee.

Strawn has been with JELD-WEN, Inc. for more than 20 years, beginning as a group manager directing wood and window assembly and was instrumental in the introduction of vinyl window production to the company.

Marketing Distinguished Service Award – Kathy Krafka-Harkema (Pella Corporation)

L to R: Kathy Krafka-Harkema, winner of this year's Marketing Distinguished Service Award and Kim Flanary, the previous year's winner

The Marketing Distinguished Service Award was presented to Kathy Krafka-Harkema,Corporate, Public Relations Manager for Pella Corporation (Pella, IA), by Kim Flanary (Milgard Manufacturing, Inc.), recipient of the previous year’s award.

This award is presented to acknowledge a single individual who has exhibited leadership and outstanding service in marketing.

Flanary stated that despite the inherent challenges of maintaining an effective synergy between technical and marketing disciplines, Krafka-Harkema is a “strong and effective team player” who has played a key role in the multitude of marketing topics and projects at AAMA meetings and within the committee and task group structure. 

Krafka-Harkema has worked as an active contributor to 13 marketing-related committees and task groups and has remained involved in all aspects of marketing, from research to training to planning and communications and material production.

Additionally, chairs of AAMA task groups and other leaders were also recognized at the banquet. Rich Walker, AAMA President and CEO, commented that “it is essential to recognize the AAMA members who faithfully share their time, experience and knowledge to further the goals and initiatives at the task group and committee levels. The membership’s contribution of time and effort plays an integral part in the continued success of the association.”

Also during the Awards Banquet, the current AAMA Board of Directors was honored, and the changes in leadership on the Board were announced. Rod Hershberger (PGT Industries), having served as the Chairman of the Board for the past two years will now assume the role of Vice Chairman. Steve Fronek (Apogee Enterprises, Inc), who has been serving for the past two years as Vice Chairman will now assume the role of Chairman.

To learn more about AAMA, please visit Sign up to get the AAMA latest news through the AAMA News and What's New feeds.


What's New on AAMANET.ORG